Sport and Recreation Industry Awards

A Sport and Recreation Industry Award is the premier accolade for any organisation in the industry.

Held every two years, the awards recognise innovation and exceptional achievement across all areas of sport and recreation in Western Australia.

Nominations have now closed.

Sport industry awards recognise best of the best

26 July 2016
The best of the best in Western Australia's sport and recreation industry have been recognised at an awards breakfast today at the State Reception Centre in Kings Park.
  • Winners recognised at Sport and Recreation Industry Awards
  • Proudly supported by the Liberal National Government.

Sport and Recreation Industry Awards logoSport and Recreation Minister Mia Davies said the calibre of nominees and finalists was impressive and showcased the exciting work being done in the industry. The Sport and Recreation Industry Awards were judged across 10 categories covering participation, volunteer support, community and professional events, and infrastructure planning and design.

"Our industry continues to grow and have a positive impact on the community because its people are thinking outside the box and inspiring large numbers of volunteers to become part of the sport and recreation family," Ms Davies said.

The Minister's Award for Industry Excellence, which comes with a prize of $10,000, was awarded to the City of Gosnells. It took out the Places and Spaces: Planning and Design Award for the Mills Park Project, which involved the complete redevelopment of a 24-hectare park, replacing old facilities which were struggling to meet the needs of a growing and changing suburban community.

"This project represents an excellent example of the complete redevelopment of a community sporting precinct, aimed at meeting the needs of a growing community," the Minister said.

"Mills Park now incorporates a range of sporting activities that better meet community need, increasing active playing space by 37 per cent and delivering outdoor fitness equipment and event space and environmentally sustainable parklands."

The other major award—the John Graham Award—was presented to two winners, Jeff Fondacaro, current president of Leisure Institute of WA (Aquatics) Inc, and Mike Allenby, former chairman of the WA Sports Federation.

"The deep passion these men have for sport and recreation contributes to keeping the industry vibrant and active.  Both winners have each contributed extensively to the sport and recreation community for more than 40 years, both professionally and personally," Ms Davies said.

Fact file

2016-17 Sport and Recreation Industry Awards winners

Organisational Excellence Award   

Gymnastics Western Australia          

Commitment to Participation Award

Coolbinia Bombers Junior Football Club (Starkick Program)

Places and Spaces: Planning and Design Award

City of Gosnells (Mills Park Project)

Heart Foundation (Healthy Active by Design)

Supporting Volunteers Award

Western Australian Cricket Association (WACA Volunteer Management Framework)

Denmark Basketball Association (Give2Sport)

Regional Excellence Award

Ngurra Kujungka        

Event of the Year Award: Professional  

Triathlon WA (SunSmart Busselton Festival of Triathlon)

Event of the Year Award: Community 

Inclusion WA (City of Bayswater: Have a Go Day)

Innovation in Practice Award

City of Armadale (U Fit - Park Edition)

Women in Sport and Recreation Award

Motorcycling Western Australia (Motorcycling Western Australian Women Program)

True Sport Award

Netball WA (Multicultural Netball Carnival)

John Graham Award

Jeff Fondacaro and Mike Allenby

Minister's Award for Industry Excellence

City of Gosnells

Minister's message

I’m very proud of the impact the sport and recreation industry has on our community and I’m passionate about encouraging more people become active.

As Minister for Sport and Recreation I’m privileged to meet many people involved in sport at all different levels across Western Australia – from the grassroots to the elite  - and I recognise the value that sport plays in their lives.

People in sport – as participants, volunteers or administrators – are a passionate and community-minded team. The 2016/17 Sport and Recreation Industry Awards recognise just some of those people and organisations that contribute to making WA a great place to live and play.

The awards showcase the best of our best and it’s our way to say thank you and recognise some of the new ideas and great organisations in our sector.

The State Government, through the Department of Sport and Recreation, continues to support the industry through organised sport and working with our partners in local government, Industry Peak Bodies, State Sporting Associations and non-government agencies.

Through these enduring partnerships we continue to strive to build stronger, healthier and more active communities.  Programs like KidSport and the Community Sporting and Recreation Facilities Fund provide such great active opportunities for all sections of the WA population and can only happen with support from the sport and recreation industry.

I thank all of our stakeholders for their passion and hard work and encourage everyone to be part of the 2016/17 Sport and Recreation Industry Awards.

I hope the applications we receive for these awards become ideas and practices we can all use and learn from. 

Mia Davies MLA
Minister for Sport and Recreation

2016/17 award categories

Invited to nominate for the 2016/17 Sport and Recreation Industry Awards are the diverse range of organisations that provide sport and recreation services and participation opportunities to the people of Western Australia, e.g. associations, local governments and commercial organisations.

The categories for 2016/17 are as follows:

  • Minister’s Award for Industry Excellence
  • John Graham Award
  • Organisational Excellence Award
  • Commitment to Participation Award
  • Places and Spaces: Planning and Design Award
  • Supporting Volunteers Award
  • Regional Excellence Award
  • Event of the Year Award (two subcategories)
    • Professional Event of the Year Award
    • Community Event of the Year Award
  • Innovation in Practice Award
  • Women in Sport and Recreation Award
  • True Sport Award.